Our innovation priorities are about matching what’s needed with what’s possible – to create, progress and deliver economic value and social development. The Innovation Board brings together local and national innovation expertise and know-how. Please see here the Innovation Board’s Terms of Reference. 

Gillian Hall

Chair of Innovation Board, member of Investment Board

Tony Appleton

Innovation Board Member

Estelle Blanks

Executive Director, Innovation SuperNetwork

Professor Michael Capaldi

Dean of Innovation and Business

Dr Colin Herron

Innovation Board Member

Patrick Melia

Chief Executive of Sunderland City Council

Lee Viney

Regional Manager at Innovate UK

Dr Nicola Wesley

Innovation Board Member

Professor Michael Whitaker

Innovation Board Member

Councillor Nick Forbes

Leader of Newcastle City Council